About me

About

Baking is my favorite pastime. If for some reason I do not get round to baking for a while, I get restless and feel like I really have to bake. Baking is fun, relaxing, rewarding, my favorite stress reliever.

A good six years ago it turned out that I have lactose intolerance and fructose intolerance. Since most sweets, cakes and pies you can buy in stores contain lactose, baking has become even more important for me. I adapt the recipes in such a way that I can eat the results without any problems. They taste just like “normal” goodies – you would never notice that they are lactose-free and contain very little fructose!

In this blog I want to present recipes which work for  me, with my lactose intolerance and fructose intolerance.

The point I have to stress is that food intolerances are a very individual thing.The fact that I can eat the goodies presented in this blog without problems does not mean that everyone who has lactose intolerance and fructose intolerance can tolerate them. This will always depend on your individual tolerance!

I am okay with sugar and do not have to substitute it. Butter is not a problem for me, as it contains only little lactose (up to about 0.6 g lactose per 100 g butter). I can also eat lactose-free products, which are not really lactose-free, but contain up to 0.1 g lactose per 100 g.

In my recipes I therefore use sugar, butter, and lactose-free milk products.

For those of you who do not have those intolerances: The recipes of course also taste great when made with “normal” ingredients!

I live in Austria, and I am not a native English speaker. I hope you will forgive the grammar/language mistakes I will undoubtedly make!

2 thoughts on “About me

Leave a Reply

