Peach Cobbler

Cakes, Recipes

I do not eat a lot of fruit, but since I tolerate peaches quite well, I´ll make an exception for this Peach Cobbler.

Peach Cobbler is a quick and delicious dessert. In summer I make it with fresh peaches, in this case with Styrian Peaches which I bought at the local market. Peach Cobbler also tastes great with canned or frozen peaches.

Peach Cobbler recipes often say that the Cobbler should be eaten warm, with vanilla ice-cream and/or whipped cream. That is probably a really good idea and sounds yummy. I just must admit that I have never eaten it that way. I always eat it on its own, warm as well as cold. I love the crust and the liquid that collects at the bottom of the dish. Okay, and the peaches in between as well.

04-IMG_9600

01-IMG_9608

Ingredients:
~4 cups (~ 600g) sliced peaches, fresh, canned, or frozen
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 cup (100 g) flour
1 cup (200 g) sugar
Pinch of salt
1 egg
6 tablespoons (90 g) butter

Melt the butter over low temperature and put aside.

Place the sliced peaches into a medium baking pan of about 10 x 6 inches (26 cm x 15 cm). I use a medium-size oval baking pan.

Sprinkle the peaches with the lemon juice.

In a mixing bowl, mix flour, sugar and salt. Add the egg and toss with a fork until crumbly.

Spread the mixture evenly over the peaches and cover them completely.

Carefully sprinkle the melted butter over the mixture. If there are some small dry patches left, do not worry. The butter will seep into those patches while baking.

Bake at 375° F (190°C)for about 30 to 40 minutes, until golden brown and bubbly.

06-IMG_9612

Note:
If I use fresh peaches for this recipe, I never peel them. It saves me a lot of work, and in my opinion it does not make much of a difference. The peaches´ skins are really soft after the baking process. I do not even notice them, unless I really look for them.

If you prefer to make the Cobbler with peeled peaches, put the whole peaches into boiling water for about 10 seconds, then take them out and immediately run cold water over them. They will peel easily after that.

I do not really like doing this since in my opinion the peaches are a little soft after this process and start losing their juices. Also, as I said, it is a lot of work.

Leave a Reply

