Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Ice Cream, Recipes

I love ice cream. Unfortunately in Austria it is difficult to get a variety of lactose-free ice cream in the store. So if I want to enjoy flavors different from vanilla and strawberry. I am more or less forced to make my ice cream myself. It is definitely worth the effort and much better than the lactose-free ice cream I get at the stores.

Lots of ice cream recipes use eggs for the ice cream base. I am not a fan of such recipes since I can never be sure if the eggs are okay and do not contain salmonella bacteria.

I was therefore really happy when I found an ice cream base which is made without sugar in „Ben and Jerry´s Homemade Ice Cream & Dessert Book“. It can be combined with different ingredients, as in this case peanut butter.

Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Ingredients:
For the ice cream base:
2 cups (480 ml) whipping cream, lactose-free
¾ cup (160 g) sugar
1/3 cup (80 ml) whipping cream, lactose-free
1/3 cup (80 ml) milk, lactose-free

Additionally:
1/3 cup (120 g) smooth peanut butter

Put 2 cups of whipping cream into a mixing bowl. I prefer to use a bowl which comes with a tight a lid. This allows me to chill the mixture in the same bowl I used for preparing it. I simply cover the bowl and put it in the refrigerator.

Gradually whisk in the sugar until it is completely blended. This takes about 2-3 minutes. Make sure you do not whisk too much! The mixture should have the consistency of whipping cream, not whipped cream.

Pour in the 1/3 cup whipping cream and the milk. Whisk until blended.

Pour one cup of the mixture into a small mixing bowl. Whisk in the peanut butter, a little at a time.

Pour the peanut butter mixture into the cream mixture and whisk until blended.

Chill the mixture in the refrigerator for about 2 hours. Whisk it once more, then freeze it in your ice cream maker, following the instructions.

Optional:
If you want, you can add about ½ cup of chopped roasted peanuts about 5 minutes before the ice cream is done.

Leave a Reply

