Maple Walnut Ice Cream

Ice Cream, Recipes

Dealing with food intolerances is not always easy. I know quite well which food I can eat and which food I should rather avoid, but keeping to my diet can sometimes be a challenge. To me, avoiding lactose seems easier than avoiding fructose. Sugar, for example, contains fructose. As I said in „About”, I consider myself fortunate since I tolerate sugar. This means I can bake with normal sugar and do not have to substitute it with stevia, glucose, rice syrup, or other substitutes.

When baking, though, I often wonder if I should go for a certain recipe which will contain fructose, or not. I automatically exclude recipes with a high amount of fructose, e.g. recipes with lots of dried or fresh fruit or with a lot of honey. I would not tolerate those recipes well.

I do make recipes which are comparatively low in fructose, though, as e.g. recipes with a rather small amount of fruit (e.g. Joghurt Cake with Peaches), recipes with fruit which contains a low amount of fructose (e.g. rhubarb), sometimes recipes with e.g. 1 tsp. honey. Since I generally try to avoid fructose in my diet as much as possible, it is okay for me if on special occasions I eat a small amount of such a cake, pie or ice cream.

I tolerate this Maple Walnut Ice Cream very well. Maple syrup seems to have a rather high amount of fructose, though I do not know how much. So far I have not been able to find reliable and detailed information on the amount of fructose in maple syrup. However, if you have severe fructose intolerance, this ice cream is probably not ideal for you.

There is really not much I can say about the recipe itself, except that the ice cream is incredibly creamy and smooth, tastes fantastic, and is extremely easy to make.

The basis for the Maple Walnut Ice Cream is the same as for the Peanut Butter Ice Cream, i.e. a basis without eggs. I like that. No raw eggs in my food.

Maple Walnut Ice Cream 1 Website

Ingredients:
For the ice cream base:
2 cups (480 ml) whipping cream, lactose-free
¾ cup (160 g) sugar
⅓ cup (80 ml) whipping cream, lactose-free
⅓ cup (80 ml) milk, lactose-free

Additionally:
¼ cup maple syrup, preferably grade C
½ cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Maple Walnut Ice Cream 2 Website

Put 2 cups of whipping cream into a mixing bowl. I prefer to use a bowl which comes with a tight a lid. This allows me to chill the mixture in the same bowl I use for preparing it. I simply cover the bowl and put it in the refrigerator.

Gradually whisk in the sugar until it is completely blended. This takes about 2-3 minutes. Make sure you do not whisk too much! The mixture should have the consistency of whipping cream, not whipped cream.

Pour in the ⅓ cup whipping cream and the milk. Whisk until blended.

Add the maple syrup and stir until blended.

Chill the mixture in the fridge for about 2 hours, then whisk it once more and freeze it in your ice cream maker, following the instructions.

About 2 minutes before the ice cream is done, add the chopped walnuts.

Continue freezing until the ice cream is ready.

The ice cream tastes best when fresh, but keeps in the freezer for several days.

Adapted from: „Ben and Jerry´s Homemade Ice Cream & Dessert Book.“

Leave a Reply

