Yogurt Cake with Peaches

Cakes, Recipes

Another recipe with peaches … Peaches are really great this time of the year. Since I tolerate them kind of okay, I could not resist and got some more at the local market.

This time I used them for a fluffy, not-too-sweet Yogurt Cake. I adapted a recipe by Annik Wecker. Delicious!

Pfirsich Joghurtkuchen Website 4

It is really important to take the butter, eggs and yogurt out of the fridge about 2 hours before you start baking so that they will have room temperature. Otherwise the eggs will not combine well with the butter and the batter will curdle. If that happens, you might be able to save the batter by adding about 1 tablespoon of the flour mixture. With a bit of luck this will work out well.

Hm. The more recipes I write for this blog, the more I realize that I myself often do not follow the recommendation about taking the ingredients out of the fridge in time. I tend to forget about that, it seems.

If I am faced with ingredients which come right out of the fridge, usually the tips I mentioned for the „Buttermilk Cake with Chocolate“ and a strong kitchen machine still help me get the batter right.

Nevertheless I am wondering if I should not take a more organized approach to baking. So let me just look if I better take the ingredients for the Oreo Cupcakes, which I plan to make this afternoon, out of the fridge. – Ok, done. No need to take anything out of the fridge. But I found out I have to get another package of Oreos, and more mascarpone. See, organized!

Pfirsich Joghurtkuchen Website 2

Ingredients:
Topping:
4 cups (500 g) peaches, or some other fruit, as e.g. rhubarb or redcurrants
1 tbsp. corn starch
1/8 cup (40 g) brown sugar

Batter:
1 ¾ sticks (200 g) soft butter
1 cup (200 g) sugar
1 tbsp. vanilla sugar (not vanillin)
Grated lemon rind from about a quarter of an organic lemon
4 eggs, room temperature
2½ cup (250 g) flour
⅓ cup (50 g) corn starch
2 tsp. baking powder
1 pinch of salt
⅔ cup (150 g) plain yogurt, lactose-free, room temperature

Grease a round baking pan (~10 inches – 26 cm) with butter.

Preheat the oven to 325° F (160° F).

In a baking bowl, combine flour, corn starch, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

Wash the peaches and cut them into slices. In another bowl, mix them with 1 tbsp. corn starch and the brown sugar. Set aside.

Beat the butter, sugar, vanilla sugar and grated lemon rind until fluffy. The mixture should be almost white.

Add the eggs one after the other. Beat in each egg for at least one minute. The eggs and the butter-mixture should combine to a homogenous batter.

Add half of the flour mixture to the batter, then the yogurt, then the rest of the flour mixture. Do not beat too long.

Pour the batter into the greased baking pan.

Arrange the peach slices evenly on the batter. Do not put the liquid which collected in the bowl onto the batter!

Bake the Yogurt Cake for 60-75 minutes. My oven is really slow. It took the entire 75 minutes until the cake was done.

When a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean, take out the cake.

Pfirisch-Joghurtkuchen Website 3

Let the cake cool for about 10 minutes. Remove from the baking pan.

If you want, you can sprinkle the cake with powdered sugar when it has completely cooled down.

 

 

Adapted from: Annik Wecker: Anniks göttliche Kuchen, Dorling Kindersley Verlag.

One thought on “Yogurt Cake with Peaches

Leave a Reply

