Waffles with Whipped Cream and Strawberry Jam

Other, Recipes

I did not plan on baking waffles last week. Then my teenage son unexpectedly invited a friend to come over and stay into the evening. With teenagers you never know how hungry they will be, so I wanted to make sure I would have something at home that I could feed them before it was dinner time.

Initially I wanted to make muffins. Whenever I need a quick recipe which kids will definitely appreciate, I will make muffins. I was just looking for my favorite recipe in Annik Wecker´s “Göttliche Kuchen,” when the book suddenly fell open at the page with the recipe for waffles. Waffles would also be a good idea, I thought. They would be a welcome change to the muffins, which I make quite often.

1-IMG_9948-001

I had some buttermilk left from the Buttermilk Cake with Chocolate. The buttermilk would expire soon, so I was happy to read that the recipe said I could substitute the milk with buttermilk. Waffles really were a good idea, I realized: They would make the teenagers happy, and I could use the rest of the buttermilk. Perfect.

The recipe says you can substitute a part of the flour with ground nuts or almonds, or with wholemeal flour. The milk you can substitute with buttermilk, as I said, but also with cream, yogurt, curd cheese, even with mashed bananas or apple sauce. The recipe thus allows a lot of experimenting and varying. The main point is that the batter needs to be semi-fluid and gooey, that is not too fluid, but also not too firm.

I used “normal” wheat flour and buttermilk. After I had added the 350 ml buttermilk I had left, the batter was quite firm. I added a good shot of milk (lactose-free), then the batter was right.

I served the waffles with whipped cream and home-made strawberry jam. Wow.

1-IMG_9963-001

Ingredients:
1 ½ sticks (180 g) butter, softened
1 cup (200 g) Zucker
1 tbsp. vanilla sugar
4 eggs, room temperature
4 cups (400 g) flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 pinch of salt
1 ¼ – 1 ¾ cups (300 – 400 ml) milk or buttermilk, lactose-free
Icing sugar

Beat the butter with the kitchen machine or the mixer until fluffy. This will take several minutes.

Add the sugar and the vanilla sugar and keep beating. The sugar should dissolve.

Add the eggs. Beat each egg in for about one minute, until it has combined will with the butter-mixture.

In a mixing bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt.

Alternately add the flour mixture and the milk/buttermilk to the batter: about ⅓ of the flour, then half the milk/buttermilk, another ⅓ of the flour, rest of the milk/buttermilk, last third of the flour.

If the batter is too liquid, add some flour. If it is too firm, add some milk/buttermilk.

Heat the waffle iron.

Depending on the waffle iron you have, fill in the appropriate amount of batter and bake the waffles until golden brown. With my waffle iron, this takes about 3-5 minutes.

Put the waffles on a big plate and let them cool down. Sprinkle the cold waffles with icing sugar, if you want.

1-IMG_9969

They can be eaten warm as well as cold. My kids like to have them as a snack at school.

Nach: Annik Wecker: Anniks göttliche Kuchen, Dorling Kindersley Verlag.

2 thoughts on “Waffles with Whipped Cream and Strawberry Jam

Leave a Reply

